I See No Moon [Updated]

Today, a Saturday dated March 19th in the year 2011 is the day the largest full moon will be visible in the sky. The only thing is, I don’t see it. I mean the sky is bright and all but I just don’t see it.

According to reports, this extra large moon will be about 14% bigger and 30% brighter than apogee moons.

Notes NASA:

“The best time to look is when the Moon is near the horizon. That is when illusion mixes with reality to produce a truly stunning view. For reasons not fully understood by astronomers or psychologists, low-hanging Moons look unnaturally large when they beam through trees, buildings and other foreground objects.”

I’m at least grateful for a picture. “It looks like a normal moon to me!” notes Sue, the one who took this picture. I can’t blame her. I’m saying the same thing while looking at the picture too. “The camera shrinks the size of the moon. I think it’s nice seeing it in person.” says Selene. Well, I would if I could but sadly I can’t.

Photo courtesy of Sue. [via Yfrog on Twitter]

I tried climbing to my roof earlier. Didn’t make a difference.

[Update] Apparently, there was a moon. It didn’t look that much different than the one in the earlier picture. Nor did it look any less normal than the usual moons I’ve seen in my life. The photo was captured using my Blackberry. As you know, phone photos kinda suck in quality. It’s even worse when doing night shots.

I was about to climb to the roof again if I didn’t get to see this moon. What a let down.

Thanks to Kit for telling me to look out for the moon at 11PM (GMT+8).

Leave a Reply

